The Department of Land Revenue has very close interaction with the citizens of the state in matters relating to public welfare and redressing the grievances. The offices functioning under the department caters to the various needs of the citizens. It is the largest department under the Government, with more than 19000 employees and is also known as the “Mother of All Departments”. Collection of basic tax, plantation tax, building tax, etc., land/mineral conservancy, census, election, natural calamity operations, redressing grievances of citizens, law and order, distribution of social welfare pensions etc. are some of the major functions of the department. The department is directly or indirectly involved with various facets related to citizens and the day to day administration of the state.

The department has already embraced information and communication technologies to effectively discharge the duties and responsibilities entrusted with it and efficiently providing various services to the public. The department is committed to building a responsible and citizen centric administration which is transparent and free from corruption aimed at the welfare of the state.

Land Revenue Commissionerate

Commissionerate of Land Revenue is the apex office within the Department, headed by the Commissioner for Land Revenue. The commissioner is assisted by The Joint Commissioner, Assistant Commissioners and Finance Officers

Land Board

The objectives of the Kerala Land Reforms Act, 1963 are to vest the ownership of the agricultural land to the tillers of the land, provide fixity of tenure to tenants and kudikidappukars, enhance agricultural production and distribute lands in excess of ceiling limits to agricultural labourers. Land Board was formed with implement these objectives. The Land Board is headed by the Commissioner of Land Revenue as its Chairman who is assisted by the Secretary, Land Board. AT the district level, Taluk Land Boards were constituted with RDOs/Deputy Collectors as chairmen. The Land Board exercises administrative superintendence over the Taluk Land Boards, Land Tribunals and Appellate Authorities. Settlement of land tenures under service inam, sreepadam, sree pandaravaka, kandu krishi etc are done under the superintendence of the Land Board.


Distrcit collector is the head of revenue administration in a district. He is also the District Magistrate. He is the representative of the Government in each of the 14 districts.

Revenue Divisional Office

A Revenue Divisional Office is headed by the Revenue Divisional Officer, who is also the Sub Divisional Magistrate. At present, there are 27 revenue divisions in Kerala

Taluk Office

A Taluk Office is headed by the Tahsildar, who is also the Executive Magistrate. At present, there are 77 taluks in Kerala. The Tahsildar exercises administrative superintendence over the village offices in the taluk. Tahsildar(LR) is the authority for handling the land related subjects in the Taluk. Land records maintenance is performed by the Taluk Survey section under the Tahsildar (LR).

Village Office

Village offices are the basic units of revenue administration. A village office is headed by a Village Officer and is the representative of Government. Village offices have very close interaction with the citizens of the state.

At present, there are 1664 villages in the state, including group villages. Protection of government lands, trees, minerals, collection of tax and other dues, maintenance of land records, issuing various certificates etc. are the various responsibilities of the village officer. As a representative of the Government, the village officer is bound to protect the interests of government in litigations. The village officer extends his services to other departments, when requested. Census, election and activities related to revenue court are the other responsibilities handled by the village officer.

Effective implementation of various welfare schemes of the government, disaster management, alerting the Tahsildar about fire and epidemic outbreaks, etc are the also entrusted with the village officer.

 Deputy Collector (Revenue Vigilance)

There are three Deputy Collectors (vilgilance) working under the direct supervision of Land Revenue Commissioner for investigating into complaints received against revenue officials, in order to ensure effective, efficient and transparent administration. The office of the Vigilance Deputy Collector (south zone) is situated in Trivandrum and exercises jurisdiction over the districts of Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Kottayam, Alappuzha and Pathanamthitta. The office of the Vigilance Deputy Collector (central zone) is situated in Ernakulam with jurisdiction over Idukki, Ernakulam, Thrissur, Palakkad and Malappuram. The office of the Vigilance Deputy Collector (north zone) is located in Kozhikkode with jurisdiction over Wynad, Kozhikkode, Kannur and Kasaragod.

Devaswom Special Tahsildar

Two Special Tahsildar Offices are functioning within the state for the protection of Devaswom lands. The office of the Special Tahsildar (Travancore Devaswom Board) is situated in Thiruvananthapuram exercises jurisdiction over Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Pathanamthitta, Kottayam, Idukki, Ernakulam and Thrissur. The office of the Special Tahsildar (Cochin Devaswom Board) is situated in Thiruvananthapuram exercises jurisdiction over Ernakulam, Palakkad Thrissur and Malappuram. Both the offices identify encroachment into devaswom lands and take necessary steps for the eviction of the same. Assistant Commissioner (LA) issues necessary directions for the functioning of these offices. 

Superintendent, Central Stamp Depot

Non-judicial/judicial stamp papers of value Rs. 10 and Rs 20 for the state of Kerala are printed from the security printing press at Hyderabad and non-judicial/judicial stamp papers of value from Rs. 50 to Rs 25000 for the state of Kerala are printed from the India Security Press, Nasik. The printed stamp papers are scrutinized by the Superintendent of Central Stamp Depot and issued to treasuries within the state in bundles of 500.

Autonomous bodies under the department

Institute of Land and Disaster Management is the training institute of the Department located at PTP Nagar in Thiruvananthapuram.

Institute of Land and Disaster Management (ILDM)

In order to effectively and efficiently render services to the public, a comprehensive capacity building plan has been implemented within the department. This assumes great importance since the department handles more than 150 Acts and Rules which has an impact on the citizens. Institute of Land Management was constituted for this purpose in 1996 as an autonomous body under the department as per the Travancore Literary Scientific and Charitable Societies Act, 1955. Subsequent to the decision of the governing body in September 2006, vide GO(MS) 24/07/DMD dt 22.01.2007, the institute was renamed as Institute of Land and Disaster Management (ILDM). The institute is located in PTP Nagar, 8 km from the centre of the city.

The objectives of the institute are to equip the revenue officials for faster and transparent service delivery through training and implement various projects for the betterment of the department. The institute functions a nodal agency for disaster management, by imparting trainings and other capacity building programs. The administration of the institute is vested upon the Governing Body chaired by the Hon. Minister for Revenue and Housing, Executive Committee chaired by the Commissioner for Land Revenue, and other sub-committees formed by the Governing Body as required.

The institute imparts continued specialized training to the employees being promoted to various posts within the department on top of the training on fundamental subjects. The institute coordinates decentralized programs in districts and the computer labs in Pathanamthitta and Malappuram.